Vegetarian vs Vegan

Neither vegans nor vegetarians eat meat. However, while vegetarians tend to consume dairy products and eggs, a vegan avoids all animal products, including eggs and dairy, and often inedible animal-based products, such as leather, wool, and silk. Vegetarianism is usually a diet, while veganism is a lifestyle. Vegetarians often choose their diet based on its reported health benefits or for religious or political reasons. In general, vegans have much stronger political beliefs regarding their diet, with some believing animals should be protected under many of the same laws that humans are.

Vegetarian: The history of vegetarianism has its roots in the civilizations of ancient India and ancient Greece. Vegetarianism is the practice of a diet that excludes meat (including by-products; fish, shellfish and other sea animals; and poultry). There are several variants of the diet, some of which also exclude eggs. They do not eat meat or fish. Some do consume dairy and some vegetarians consume eggs. Lacto-vegetarian: eating dairy products. Ovo-vegetarian: eating eggs. Do not eat gelatin or other animal by products

Vegan: Veganism is the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products. One of the first recorded individuals following a vegan diet was Dr. William Lambe in the early 1800’s. Veganism is a philosophy and compassionate lifestyle whose adherents seek to exclude the use of animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose. Vegans endeavor not to use or consume animal products of any kind. Vegans do not consume meat, eggs, milk, honey or any food that is derived from animals.

Flexitarian: One who normally maintains a vegetarian diet but occasionally makes exceptions and eats meat or fish.

When dealing with the Social Aspects of vegetarianism & veganism, remember everyone will ask questions. Things such as dating, parties, barbecues, potlucks, and basically anywhere food is being served.